Google images eBay wikipedia YouTube
Map/aerial photo of the area around the mill
- house converted
The East Windmill, a tower mill, has retained its full height.
Although at one time roofed, the tower lost its copper roof in 1942 for
the war effort, and thus remained roofless until 1998. It then
underwent conversion into a house by the then owner Mark Smith, which was completed in 1999.
The mill tower was unusual (though not unique) in that it was tile hung. A
small strip of tiles has been retained in the current conversion.
Blackthorn front, 1999 © Mark Smith
Blackthorn rear, 1999 © Mark Smith
Blackthorn inside, 1999 © Mark Smith
Entry in Mills Archive database - #1654
Geograph images are licenced under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike licence
Text and images © Mark Berry,