Map/aerial photo of the area around the mill
Combined wind & water mill
The Norfolk Windmills Trust
This unique mill, built in 1821, was powered both by wind and water. Two pairs of stones at the base
of the tower were driven by the waterwheel, while two further pairs of stone in the upper half of the tower
were driven by the sails.
The pumphouse contains a separate waterwheel which operated the Bramah Pump. This pumped water up to
Clermont Hall a mile away.
The Mill ceased working by wind power in 1916 but continued with water and oil power until 1952.
The Norfolk Windmills Trust took on the lease of the mill in 1981 and embarked on a long-term programme
of repairs to all the buildings on the site.
The pumphouse was repaired in 1989. In 1990 and 1991 the Bramah Pump, hydraulic ram and the main waterwheel
were repaired by trainee engineers from Eastern Electricity. in 1993 the outflow channels were repaired,
and new windows installed in the mill tower.
Future work will include installing a new cap and sails, and repairing internal machinery and improving access
to the mill tower.
For further details, contact the Technical Advisor, Norfolk Windmills Trust, County Hall, Martineau Lane,
Norwich, NR1 2SG. Telephone (01603) 222705
Norfolk Windmills Trust
Little Cressingham Mill
The restoration of this mill is dedicated to the memory of Mr A G Hodges, Chairman of the Norfolk Windmills Trust 1975 to 1987.